Canada Day Tradition Brings Old Friends Together

Posted: July 2, 2013 in LIFE
Tags: , , , , , , ,

By Jason Sutcliffe

 Canada Day 2013 was a great day; my son spent his first Canada Day surrounded by loved ones and people I have had the pleasure of knowing all my life. There was food, drinks, laughs, stories and the 3rd generation of family friends being introduced.

 To see life time friends and watch their children introduce themselves to my four-month-old son was amazing. It truly made me take a moment to appreciate how special 25-year friendships are. To be standing there sharing old stories and having laughs with the same people I had met a quarter century before and to have their parents and my parents there sharing almost 50 years of friendship, is exactly the type of thing I want to teach my son to cherish the truly important things in life.

 These people that over years become more than friends they are family.  These people often know you better than most of your biological cousins, aunts and uncles. When you think back on your childhood it is these people who are riddled throughout your memories.

 Today was a day that was enjoyed with good stories, laughs and catching up with people you sometimes don’t get to see as much as you would like. Even though we have all grown up and started families of our own when you look at each other you can still see that six year old who wore the big glasses or the eight year old with the buck teeth and you get the feeling that no matter how old you get or where life takes you that is the person you will always see, and that is what makes that relationship special.

 I’m truly blessed to be surrounded by more than a handful of these people, people who’s character is unshakable, and who are always there for you when you need them in the most genuine way possible. My son who is but four months old had absolutely no idea how blessed he is as he scanned the room taking in all of the new faces and different people who approached him eager to introduce themselves.

 I am raising my son to know the value of a good friendship, what it is to be a friend, and that family isn’t just the people you share DNA with. It makes me proud, and I truly believe it is one of the greatest gifts I can give him.

Comments
  1. Jwls says:

    Awesome post Jay!! Love your blog!!

Leave a Reply

