Church Family Functions: A Good Time Guaranteed!

Posted: August 5, 2013 in LIFE
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Jason Head_Shot[1]

By Jason Sutcliffe

There is a special bond that is held within a family, one that proves DNA has a much bigger role in our personalities than environment does.

I attended a wedding yesterday for my cousin on my mother’s side. A great group of people whom I don’t get to see as much as I would like and never have really. It is funny because even though I have only seen them but a dozen times I feel incredibly comfortable around them.

When I arrived yesterday I saw all of my aunts, uncles, and cousins, immediately the smiling, joking and laughing started. It was as if we had been hanging around each other for years.

Now the truth is that I really haven’t been in contact with them all that much. As a child hardly ever but as an adult I have managed to see them every couple of years, usually at a wedding, which by the way is a perfect storm for a great time (laugh).

Now, I have been told my whole life that I have a great sense of humour, not by everyone but by most people and for those people who don’t appreciate it…you need to work on your sense of humour because it sucks! 🙂

Yesterday I walked into an alternate universe where everyone was just like me. That shit is unheard of and probably quite scary to a lot of people who truly know what my sense of humour is like. I find it unbelievable how similar you could be with people who you have not had regular contact with during your life.

Now, I am not going to go into detail about the kind of humour we were sharing because, well, you had to be there. There may or may not have been some people who were looking over at us like…holy mother of god, did he just say that, WOW!  Lets just say that censorship is not regular practice at Church family functions and I love it. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Usually when I am at functions I spend half the time thinking to myself don’t say that…people are going to think there is something seriously wrong with you. Yesterday and every other time I get together with the Church clan I think to myself…I knew it, I am funny and if there is something wrong with me its ok, because that means there is something wrong with all of us.

I had an unbelievable time yesterday and regardless of how long it is before I see the family as a whole again, I know that I will walk up and the smiling, laughing and joking will pick up right where it left off yesterday night. It is a great feeling to be part of such a great family and wonderful group of people. I can’t wait for the next get together.

Leave a Reply

