Giving Your Seat To The Elderly And Pregnant Is Just Basic Decency

Posted: August 8, 2013 in PET PEEVES
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Jason Head_Shot[1]

By Jason Sutcliffe

There are certain things that should just be a given, they should just happen. One of the things that just do not happen often enough is people giving up their seats on the TTC (Toronto Transit Commission) for the elderly, pregnant, injured or the disabled.

Too many times I have been on the subway or bus and have witnessed the elderly or pregnant being forced to stand because a train or bus full of inconsiderate jerks refuse to give up their seats. This is something that should not have to be asked it should just be done.

Young people are the worst for this kind of behaviour. Far too often I have been forced to be the one to pipe up on the bus and ask people to give their seats up to someone who is far to old, or far too pregnant to be standing.

I have witnessed people intentionally put their head down or close their eyes, so that they don’t have to acknowledge these people. Giving up your seat is an act of decency that has been lost over time and it is shameful.

When I was young I would have got a swat in the head, or a kick in the butt, if I would have sat in a seat on the bus while an elderly person or pregnant women was standing. That expectation of decency has carried with me into adulthood, like it has for most others who grew up in an era where respect for others was not asked for but demanded by your parents.

It has gotten so out of hand that we are at a point where if you say something to someone about giving up their seat you get a dirty look or some other display of their shitty attitude.

I find it to be ridiculous that when I give my seat up on the bus people thank me and tell me what a good person I am. I tell people all the time, “That does not make me a good person, that should be regular everyday behaviour from everybody.” It is like saying hey you are a good person because you through your garbage in the garbage can, instead of throwing it on the ground—Think about that?

Is that really where we are at as a society that I stand out in a crowd for behaving like a decent human being? If so than society today is in a really, really sad place, and I hope that we can recognise that and make the necessary changes and begin to respect each other like we should

I am well aware that this is just one small example of poor behaviour, but it is a direct relation to the way we as a society look at things in 2013; everyone is too busy looking out for number one to be worried about what is going on around them.

We need to get back to a time when a pregnant women or senior citizen gets on the bus and every able-bodied person is willing to give up their seat. Maybe even get to a place where it is the norm to help the elderly on and off the bus. If not simply because they need the help than because we one day are going to be the elderly and may need a helping hand or a seat on the bus ourselves.

Comments
  1. Ms.Isabella says:

    I actually find young people more likely to give up their seats then middle aged people. Even before I was pregnant, both young boys/men and young girls/women would ask if I minded standing. Perhaps it’s because I look very young, and older people assume I’m a teen when I’m actually in my thirties.

    In general the TTC is just terrible. Queues are cut by someone who thinks they shouldn’t have to stand in the 20 person line. I get tackled by riders who can’t wait for anyone to step off the subway before they step on. People stand in front of the doors, ignore others when asked to move their bags, etc.

    All we can do is make sure that we are as courteous as we can be, and that we continue to teach others to be courteous as well. A lot of the time I don’t want a seat, but it is rather nice to be asked. 🙂

    • It is sad that, that is the way that it has become Ms. Isabella. It is just one of those things that bothers me because I was raised to do those type of things. All of the other things that u mentioned annoy the crap out of me as well, but my blog could only be so long hahahahaha. The bags are the worst, especially because the solution of putting it between your feet is so easy. It just shows a serious lack of courtesy.

      I really appreciate you taking the time to read and respond to my blog. Thank you very much!

      Stay Blessed,

      Jason Sutcliffe

  2. I do find that younger people are quicker to give up their seats. Something else to think about: some people have disabilities that one cannot see with the naked eye.

Leave a Reply

