My Son’s Birth: Easily The Best Day Of My Life

Posted: August 9, 2013 in LIFE
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Jay and Jax touch noses

By Jason Sutcliffe

The first five months of fatherhood have been a wild and amazing ride. The day he was born was crazy; my son’s heart rate was going up and down and within minutes the doctors had decided that they had to do an emergency c-section. I had never been so scared in my life—ever, for both my wife and my son.

It took a lot for me to remain composed while all the mayhem was going on inside the operating room. I sat holding my wife’s hand re-assuring her that everything would be ok. Even though I was fighting with everything I had in me not to break down, because I was unsure if what I was telling her was the truth.

After about fifteen or twenty minutes I heard a little cry, it was that cry that flushed all of my worry away because I knew that everything was ok. There he was being held up in the air like an angel, like the doctor was showing god some of his best work. About two minutes after that I was being called over to cut the umbilical cord.

I couldn’t stop staring at my little guy he was so perfect. I remember counting his fingers, toes, I made sure everything was where it was supposed to be and then my eyes welled up and I introduced myself to him as his dad—what a feeling that was!

Because my wife had a c-section I got the honour of holding him first and it is something I will never forget as long as I live; he was all wrapped up and had his little toque on. He was the most perfect thing I had ever seen. I remember thinking; wow, I can’t believe I helped make something so perfect.

I sat next to my wife’s face with our little guy, and both of us cried. I have never been so happy in my life. Nothing has ever brought me the kind of joy I felt in that moment. Right then and there I was in love! I made him a promise as I sat there with him in my arms that no matter what ever happened in life that I would be there for him. I don’t think I have ever meant anything as much as I meant that promise.

Holding him in my arms and looking at his little tiny face and seeing so many of my features; his big full lips, and huge nostrils (laugh), and then to see that he had his moms big beautiful blue eyes that I love so much. He was the perfect mix of the both of us. There was nothing that I would have changed he was so perfect.

There are going to be a lot of great moments over the course of my life but I am fairly certain that not a single one of them will even come close to being as good a moment as when I saw my son’s little face for the first time, and held his little body in my arms when he was just minutes old. That was easily the greatest experience I have ever had by a country mile.

I feel so blessed that I have been granted the opportunity to be a father and a dad to the greatest little man a guy could ask for.

Comments
  1. That image is just gorgeous. Happy 5 months…. it just gets better.

    • It really was, I could have never prepared for what that day had to bring. I can’t imagine it getting any better than it did on that day, the thought that it could fills me with excitement and anticipation.

      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and comment. That is always appreciated!

      Stay Blessed

      Jason Sutcliffe

Leave a Reply

