We All Stress Out, We Just Need A Way To Deal With It

Posted: August 12, 2013 in LIFE
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Jason Head_Shot[1]

By Jason Sutcliffe

Stress gets to us all we all experience it, some to greater degrees than others, and we all deal with it differently. Some of us read books to zone out, some draw or paint and others like me use physical activity.

Physical activity is a weight barring pillar in my life I need it and if for nothing else, for my emotional and mental well being. Like many people, I try my best not to show it or keep it to myself. It is not the healthiest way to do it, but it is what it is.

Of course, I talk to my wife and share she is a great listener, but it is hard to unload everything—ya know?

Physical activities such as running, working out, and well, sports in general act as an emotional release, for me anyway. When things start to pile up and get a little hard to deal with, there is nothing that I enjoy more than going out for a run and working up a good sweat while pushing my body to its limits.

Last week I went out and got in a couple hours of basketball, which was amazing. Tapping into my competitiveness always leaves me feeling good. Now, I am not a psycho or anything. I do not run around killing guys on the court like Jim Carey in The Cable Guy, but I love sports and I play to win.

I guess physical activity acts as my personal therapist (laugh). It seems logical to me; it keeps me in shape, promotes a healthy lifestyle and makes me feel young, and all the while it keeps my mind right.

I have read that I feel happy after physical activity because the brain releases serotonin along with other endorphins, which affect your mood. Awesome, that’s science bitches! (Ok that was my one and only Breaking Bad reference).

Everyone needs an outlet it does not matter what it is, as long as you are not killing anyone. I would not recommend anyone taking the old “Dexter” form of stress relief, but we all need an outlet. So if you do not have one, get one. What ever it is just make sure that you enjoy it, and it is not self-destructive.

Enjoy the rest of your days, here’s to minimum stress and maximum happiness!

Leave a Reply

