Lower Don Valley Trail: My Oasis Of Serenity.

Posted: August 16, 2013 in LIFE
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Jason Head_Shot 2[1]

By Jason Sutcliffe

I leave my apartment and take on the challenge of a 13-kilometer run. For some, it is crazy, but for me it is the definition of serenity.

As I run down Broadview, I see the crazy, hectic, fast paced life that we live; cars fly by, people yelling, everybody is in a hurry, people frantically pressing the buttons on their phones. Seemingly to busy to take in anything going on around them. It is quite mind-boggling.

I get down to the bottom of Riverdale Park by Gerrard and cut down into the valley. Everything changes; I detach myself from all the craziness. It is quiet. My blood is rushing, my heart racing, sweat drips down my head and the breeze and the sun against my face. I am alive. It is a feeling like no other.

Given how hard I am working it is surprising that my breathing has become very relaxed. I am trying to run at just the right pace, but ironically I am in no hurry because I know that life is waiting for me when I ascend out of the valley and back into that crazy, fast paced, stressful world.

For the next hour and a bit it is just me and my thoughts, no music, no company, no T.V, none of the things that distract us every day from just being alone with our thoughts. I drift into myself; the only connection is the beep from my watch letting me know I have completed another mile.

The beeps get closer together every mile is a little quicker than the last. As my stride opens up, my heart beats a little faster; my breathing is still calm and very comfortable. I have completely detached mentally I am far, far away, deep into my own personal abyss. I have found my rhythm; I am pushing my body and my mind to its limit.

I find peace with the things that have made my head want to explode when I think about them. I accept that as much as I want to solve all of my problems there are things that are simply out of my control.

All in all, the guy who ascends out of the valley is in a much better place than the guy who descended into it. Running is my therapy!

Leave a Reply

