Any Time With My Nephew Is Time Well Spent

Posted: August 19, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

family time

By Jason Sutcliffe

My nephew was over last night, and that is always a good time. Even though my wife and son had gone away for the night, and I missed them a lot, my nephew always puts a smile on my face.

He is such a good kid, always polite, always considerate and overall just a good kid. We were super tight since before he can remember. Ever since he could talk we have had our little things that we do; I ask him “who is your best friend?” Which he always replies, “You uncle Jay.”

It is always a great feeling when he says that to me. It lets me know that I have put in enough time with him that it has made our relationship special. It is not your regular uncle, nephew relationship. Until this summer, I had coached every one of his soccer teams, but now he plays competitive, so I am now just a fan.

I try to make it to as many games as I can, but it has been a little challenging now that I have a son and other responsibilities. We have gone to sports games, Center Island, Science Center, etc… We have built a good relationship.

He is getting so big now that it is scary. When he comes over to my house and lays down on the couch the kid takes up three cushions. I always say to him “Hey man, when did you get so big you are a ‘three cushioner’ now.” He just laughs at me.

Yesterday we were at a bbq for my uncle’s 60th birthday, and we were playing in the backyard. I was chasing him, picking him up, throwing him around and play fighting. At one point, we were all around, and I said to him “Who is your best friend?” He looked at me and said “Tyler!” I said, “Tyler, what about uncle Jay (playfully)?” He said to me, “Tyler is my best friend, you are my uncle Jay, that is way more important.”

In that moment, I realised that I had accomplished what I set out to do so many years ago. I had been there for him whenever he has needed me, and created an unbreakable bond. The first time I held him was on my parents couch, he was a day old, and I promised him I would be there for him no matter what. Eight years later, I can say honestly and proudly that I have kept that promise.

What is cool is his little brother is three now and is old enough that we can start to form that same bond. With my son, two nephews and maybe more to come there will be a whole troop of little midget’s running around, and I love the thought of that. Family time is like nothing else; it is irreplaceable, rewarding and the best way I could think to spend my time.

Comments
  1. zara says:

    Awe that is so sweet. I wish my brother or rico’s brother could have could be that type of uncle to my boys. Some adolts are so wrapped up in their own BS to have that connection. I am like you in that way love family and family gatherings. You wil be a great father.

    • Well thank you very much Zara. my train of thought is that without your people what do you have. All the kids mean the world to me, and when they are adults I want them to be able to say Uncle Jay/Dad was always there for me. I take a great deal of pride in that. There is nothing more important to me than playing a major role in all of their lives! There are no better times then the one’s you spend with family. Those memories will last 2 lifetimes; yours and theirs! Thanks again Zara, and also thank you for taking the time to read my blog, that is always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

