Terry Fox Run Takes The Fight To Cancer!

Posted: September 17, 2013 in RECENT EVENTS
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Jason Head_Shot[1]

By Jason Sutcliffe

Cancer has no preference, it does not discriminate against age, gender, race, religion or sexual orientation, and nobody is immune to its wrath. However in return there is no discrimination in the fight against cancer, anyone and everyone is asked to take part in the battle to abolish this horrific disease.

As a Journalism student, I was asked to cover the Terry Fox run this past Sunday, September 15th at Ashbridges Bay in the Toronto Beaches.

I had the chance to meet a lot of great people and interview some participants with very inspiring stories. Stories of triumph, memory, celebration and sadness. One common theme amongst everyone I spoke with was the fight to cure cancer and save lives.

I have to say I found myself at one point thinking, who knew on April 12th, 1980 when Terry dipped his right leg in the Atlantic Ocean and began his run that 33 years, and 600 million dollars later, this event would be going so strong. The support is coast to coast and is phenomenal.

I think one of the best things I observed while covering the event was the diversity of people taking part. The age range of participants was astounding I had the pleasure of speaking with two sisters, Kay Sibbert (86) and Margret Blair (84) who have been taking part in the event for 27 and 25 years respectively.

DSC_2046_863

On the other end of the spectrum, I saw a number of children participating in the run as young as 7-8 years old. Children even younger were walking half way and being pushed in strollers the other half.

DSC_1962_848 DSC_1933_846

It is really great when you see young children who know about Terry, what he did and its importance to Cancer research. There were a number of people who were making a family day of the event with parents and kids all running together.

DSC_1968_850 DSC_2002_852

It was truly an amazing experience I am so glad that I was there to cover it because I met a number of great people. My encounter with the Kelly family had the greatest impact on me by far. A great family! Nancy Kelly took the time to talk with me about the tragedy of losing her son to his battle with cancer, and the love and support of her family who were there 20 strong to run in memory of their fallen family member Christopher Kelly.

DSC_0008_869

In all, it was an inspiring, humbling and motivating experience which has reminded me to be grateful for what I have, and that I owe it to everyone who did not have the opportunity to see their goals through to work as hard as I can to accomplish mine.

Leave a Reply

